General Assembly

The General Assembly consists of all full members. Associate members can assist but can not vote. While members are in fact the independent institutions for children, they are represented within ENOC by the person who holds the mandate or its delegated representative. Both the General Assembly and the Bureau have decision-making powers within ENOC.


The Bureau consists of five persons, the past Chairperson, the current Chairperson, the Chairperson-elect, the Secretary and Treasurer of the Network.

The Chairperson-elect, Secretary and Treasurer of ENOC are elected by the General Assembly during its annual general meeting. The Chairperson-elect is elected for a non-renewable one-year term and begins his/her functions at the beginning of the following annual general meeting of the General Assembly. The Secretary and Treasurer are elected for a one-year term and may be re-elected for a maximum of two further consecutive terms (three years in all). They take up their post immediately following election.

Current ENOC Bureau Composition

The current Chairperson:

Ms. Geneviève AVENARD Children’s Defender, France

The Chairperson-elect:

Ms. Koulla YIASOUMA Northern Ireland Commissioner for Children and Young People

The Past Chair:

Vacant position

The Secretary:

Dr. Niall MULDOON Ombudsman for Children, Ireland

The Treasurer:

Ms. Edita ZIOBIENE Ombudsperson for Children’s Rights, Lithuania


The Secretariat works in close collaboration with the Bureau to ensure the effective coordination and development of the activities of the network and the strengthening of its core administration.

It coordinates the efforts of ENOC’s members to contribute to policy development and to link with the European Union, other European and international institutions or NGOs operating in the children’s rights field.

Ms. Polina Atanasova – ENOC Coordinator

Ms. Coralie Da Silva – ENOC Assistant Coordinator